I am a chef, author, and yes, hunter, angler, gardener, forager and cook. Results were ambrosia!! Normal ones range from 5 1/2 percent fat by weight to up to 20 percent, and a subspecies in the Great Lakes called a siscowet can be truly, astonishingly fat: One study conducted in 1965 showed one of these porkers to be 88 percent fat by weight. Many products featured on this site were editorially chosen. https://www.outdoorlife.com/2-recipes-for-smoked-lake-trout Rub a small saucer generously with garlic. Smaller trout only take a few hours to smoke, but larger lake trout and salmon can take several hours. Hey Hank, didn’t you get the memo? Check the temp of your fish with a good meat thermometer after a few hours, and when … See more ideas about Trout recipes, Lake trout recipes, Recipes. In general, the larger the lake trout the fattier it will be. After six hrs, place each fillet on seperate aluminum foil sheets, skin down. I’ve had great results smoking them much like you suggested, but haven’t tried spruce tips, I’ll have to give that a shot. minced garlic 1/4 tsp. It's almost impossible to beat a well-smoked piece of trout or salmon. Might even try tamarisk tips in the fish, since I don’t have access to diamond willow, and fresh fig wood in the smoker. Remove and serve. Add apple pie with ice cream and you have a nice meal that everyone will enjoy. Learn how your comment data is processed. Lake Michigan provides some of the best fishing for steelhead, coho salmon, perch, chinook salmon, rainbow trout, lake trout, brown trout, smallmouth bass, largemouth bass and walleye in the Midwest. One is the Siscowet, which is about 60 to 70% fat content and they live in the deep (250 feet and deeper) parts of the lake. Thanks for sharing. I mean, we all love bacon (greasy), and most fish eaters love salmon for its fat — a good piece of smoked chinook salmon will leave your hands slick with yummy orange oil. You’ve had a successful trout fishing expedition out on Reindeer L